Episcopal delegates named for March 2019 United Nations Commission on the Status of Women

It’s impossible to say how long The Episcopal Church, as an institution, has participated at the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW). Certainly, we can imagine that Episcopalians may have been present from the beginning, such as Eleanor Roosevelt, but not necessarily on behalf of The Episcopal Church.

In more recent times, Episcopal women have participated alongside our Anglican sisters since at least 2000, and beginning in 2015, The Episcopal Church sent an accredited delegation to the UNCSW, thanks to our Church receiving Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) consultative status. Episcopal Women continue to participate with the United Nations’ central platform for reflection, debate, and innovative thinking on sustainable development.

Press Release from The Episcopal Church

We envisage a world where all women and girls have equal opportunities and rights by 2030. Step It Up asks governments to make national commitments that will close the gender equality gap – from laws and policies to national action plans and adequate investment. NOW is the time to Step It Up!

December 20, 2018 - Press Release from EpiscopalChurch.org

Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop and Primate Michael Curry has named the Episcopal delegates to represent him at the 63rd Session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW) in New York City, NY, March 11-22, 2019.

During this meeting, Episcopal delegates will observe the official UNCSW meetings at United Nations headquarters and will represent the Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church. Along with the delegates from across the Anglican Communion and the group, Ecumenical Women, these Episcopal delegates will engage in advocacy related to the Episcopal Church’s written statement on the 2019 priority theme, “Social protection systems, access to public services and sustainable infrastructure for gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.”  In addition to this meeting, each delegate is expected to participate in conference calls prior to the UNCSW meeting and evaluations, reports and follow-up actions once back home.

The delegates named by Presiding Bishop Curry are: Charlotte Healy, Diocese of Connecticut (Province I); the Rev. Martha Korienek, Diocese of New York (Province II); Michele Roberts, Diocese of Delaware (Province III); Karen Patterson, Diocese of Southwest Florida (Province IV); Samantha Hynes, Diocese of South Dakota (Province VI); Dana Jean, Diocese of Dallas (Province VII); Dr. Chiseche Mibenge, Diocese of El Camino Real (Province VIII); Luz Maria Lambis Garcés, Diocese of Colombia (Province IX) and Cynthia Wilson D’Alimonte (Convocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe).

Presiding Bishop’s staff members accompanying the delegation are: Lynnaia Main, Episcopal Church Representative to the United Nations; Katelyn Kenney, Julia Chester Emery Intern for the United Thank Offering, and the Rev. Glenda McQueen, Staff Officer for Latin America and the Caribbean.

Presiding Bishop Curry named Jennifer Allen of the Diocese of Kansas as the Episcopal provincial delegate to the Anglican Communion delegation.

UNCSW 63: www.unwomen.org/en/csw/csw63-2019

UN Women: www.unwomen.org  

The Episcopal Church and the United Nations: https://www.episcopalchurch.org/episcopal-church-and-united-nations

Anglican Communion Representation at the United Nations http://www.aco.org/mission/at-the-un.aspx  

Global Partnerships: www.episcopalchurch.org/global-partnerships

The Episcopal Church: www.episcopalchurch.org